Campus Tours

Campus Tour UNN :Tour 2 Faculties contd.

Faculty of Arts

The Faculty of Arts is one of the first four foundation faculties of the University of Nigeria, Nsukka which commenced academic activities in 1960 with six departments. Two of these – English and History – became the core departments of the Faculty of Arts when the institution grouped its academic units into faculties. the Faculty has grown and now has nine departments. The departments are History and International Studies, English and Literary Studies, Archaeology and Tourism, Foreign Languages and Literary Studies, Fine and Applied Arts, Theatre and Film Studies, Linguistics, Igbo and other Nigerian Languages, Mass Communication and Music.
The Faculty of Agriculture 

The Faculty of Agriculture was founded with the assistance of the Michigan State University under the auspices of USAID (United States Agency for International Development) to be one of the leading centres of teaching and research in Agriculture in the continent of Africa. It was the first Faculty of Agriculture in Nigeria. The faculty has 6 depatmets which include :- Agricultural Economics, Animal Science, Plant/Soil Science, Home Economics, Veterinary Science, Agricultural Mechanization

Faculty of biological science

The history of the Faculty dates back to September 1961 a year after the establishment of the University of Nigeria in October 1960. the Faculty as presently constituted consist of the departments of Biochemistry, Microbiology, Plant Science and Biotechnology and Zoology and Environmental Biology.

Faculty of education
The Faculty offers both undergraduate and postgraduate programme in the five occupational areas of Agricultural Education, Business Education, Computer Education, Home Economics Education and Industrial Technical Education.

The faculty of engeneering

The Faculty of Engineering has a total of 2438 students in the six departments of Agricultural and Bioresources Engineering, Civil Engineering, Electrical Engineering, Electronic Engineering, Mechanical Engineering and Metallurgical and Materials Engineering. The highest number of students is enrolled in the Department of Electronic Engineering while the least number of students are found in the Department of Agricultural & Bioresources Engineering.

Faculty of vetenary medicine

The Veterinary program attained a Faculty status in 1980 with a concomitant expansion to 6 Departments- Veterinary Anatomy; Veterinary Physiology, Pharmacology and Animal Production, Veterinary Parasitology and Entomology; Veterinary Pathology, Microbiology and Public Health; Veterinary Medicine and Veterinary Surgery and Obstetrics.

Faculty of physical sciences

The faculty of physical sciences was created out of the former faculty of sciences in the 1973/74 academic year. In other word, it is known as faculty of science at the inception of the university in 1960. The faculty of physical sciences is made up of six Departments: Department of computer science, Department of geology, Department of mathematics, Department of physics and Astronomy, Department of pure and industrial chemistry, Department of statistics. Thus, the faculty consists of departments carrying out research into and disseminating knowledge in those basic sciences with a common mathematical heritage.

Faculty of social sciences

The Faculty of the Social Sciences, University of Nigeria is a very large faculty comprising nine departments with over 5,000 students and 250 academic staff. Apart from the numerical strength, the faculty has been playing a leading role not only in the university but in the country and the global academic community as whole. It is therefore not surprising that the faculty has over the years, produced a number of world renowned academics and professors. The Departments here includes: Public Administration and Local Government, Economics, Psychology, Geography, Religion & Cultural Studies, Social work, Philosophy and Sociology, Political Sciences and Anthropology