Campus Tours

Campus Tour UNN: Tour 2 – Faculties

As we mentioned previously in tour one, the University has at present 14 faculties with 88 Departments, some of which we might not be able to showcase, but let’s start with this unique faculty.
The Faculty of pharmaceutical Sciences
Faculty of Pharmaceutical sciences started as a Department in the Faculty of Science in 1967. Due to the civil war, which lasted from 1967 to 1970, the Department did not function until 1970. It later became part of the Faculty of Biological Sciences. The first group of students numbering 14, graduated in 1974. 

The Department was raised to the status of a Faculty named Faculty of Pharmaceutical Sciences in 1980 with Professor P. Iwe. Akubue as the Pioneer Dean. The Faculty was planned to have six departments namely: Department of Pharmaceutics Department of Pharmaceutical Technology & Industrial Pharmacy Department of Pharmacology & Toxicology Department of Pharmaceutical Chemistry Department of Pharmacognosy and Department of Clinical Pharmacy and Pharmacy Management The faculty has postgraduate programmes at Masters and Doctorate (Ph.D) levels in all the departments and has graduated students at both levels. She would like to see more students take up postgraduate studies. The Centre for Drug Research and Production (CDRP) was inaugurated in the Faculty in March 1987. This centre when fully developed will have its own staff and consultants as well as its own research fellows and associates. Objective The programme leads to the degree of Bachelor of Pharmacy (B. Pharm). The courses are designed to give the students a good grounding in the main disciplines of Pharmacy including Pharmaceutics, Pharmaceutical Technology, Pharmaceutical and Medicinal Chemistry, Pharmacognosy and Environmental Medicine, Pharmaceutical Microbiology, Pharmacy Management, Pharmacology and Toxicology, Clinical Pharmacy and Forensic Pharmacy. Graduates are expected to be well equipped for professional practice subject to the regulations of the PHARMACISTS COUNCIL OF NIGERIA, and for other scientific pursuits in allied fields.